Zur Webansicht Zur Webansicht
0/1 Rechenzentrum der Universität Regensburg
Home Uni  Pfeil  Rechenzentrum  Pfeil  
Deko-Banner
Zur Lese-/Druckansicht  

Deutsch
Frequently Used Links:
Hauptnavigation:

Regulations for internet connection in the dormitories

On this website you will find information about the rules and requirements for internet connection in the dormitories.

[ requirements ]   [operational regulations ]   [ terms of use ]


1. Which requirements are essential for the use of the internet connection in the dormitory?

  • You need a valid RZ-Account of the computation center. If are a student of the University of Regensburg or of the FH Regensburg you got this RZ-Account at your immatriculation. Students of other universities can get an RZ-Account with their students card at the infopoint (www-info.uni-regensburg.de) of the computation center.

  • There is a fee of 1 per month, respectivly 6 (7 ) per semester. This fee is automatically chared of your account that ist connected to your RZ-Account with registration or renewal of computers. If your balance is not sufficient it is not possible to register or renew registrations of computers. You have to recharge this account with money before registration or renewal of computers.

  • Every device you want to use in the dormitory has to be registered there. The registration process can be performed on your personal status site directly on your port in your room. At the beginning of each semester it is neccessary to renew a registration. This can be done on the same website as mentioned above. Registrations which are not renewed in this time intervall are going to be deleted automatically.

  • Every Computer has to be configured for DHCP. This means that you have to configure e.g. Windows XP/Vista in the TCP/IP options of your netword card to automatically obtain an IP adress and automatically obtain a DNS server adress (This is standard for Windows).


2. Operational regulations

  • The registration of devices in the dormitories is valid for one semester. The key dates are the 1st May and 1st November. If you want to use a device a further semester you have to renew the registration for that device at the beginning of each semester. The renewal intervall for summer semester is from 1st April - 30th April. For winter semester the renewal intervall is from 1st October - 31th October. The renewal process can be done online via your personal status site.

    Attention: Devices are going to be deleted on 1st May, respectivly 1st Novermber, if you do not renew registration!

  • Every registration option (do a new registration, delete a registration, change a registration, renew a registration) can be performed directly on your computer in your room. The personal status site is always reachable no matter what your registration status is. Every registration action will be active within 20 minutes.

  • If you deregister a device, you will get your money back to your account for the rest of the semester (for complete months).

  • Every registered computer can be additionally registered as a course computer. With such a additional coure computer registration you can use your private computer in the dormitory as well as on the campus of the university. This possibility is for users with laptops that want to use their private laptop concurrently in the dormitory and in an office or laboratory of the university. Pay attention: 1. A course computer registration is only necessary for the aim mentioned above and will be delete on 1st September. 2. Course computer registration is only necessary for wired ethernet. If you want to use wireless networks on the campus, you have to register your wireless network card seperatly on the campus.

  • There is a limit for data transfer per network port (not per device!). The limit is 2 GByte/day for dormitories which are connected via fiber optics and 1 GByte/day for dormitories which are connected via wireless links. The complete amount of transfered bytes is basis of the limit. It does not matter whether the traffic is intern (on campus) or extern (internet) because it is not possible with the deployed network components to differentiate between these two sorts. If you reach the daily limit for data transfer, the port will be constrained: it is then just possible to establish connections intern with limited bandwith. This constraint is the active for the rest of the same day and is going to be reversed at 24:00 on the same day.

  • Unfortunatly there are situations when your port will be locked. This is for example the case if your devices account for disturbances in the network or if your device is attacking other devices in the network (when having a virus or trojan). In this case your port will be in quarantine and you can only reach the Windows update server and the sophos virus scanner download site of the university.


3. Terms of use for privat computers in the network of the university


A device is allowed to be operated in the university network, if the following rules are observed:
  1. The usage of the network is only allowd to people with a valid RZ-Account.

  2. The usage is conform the policy of usage (research, teaching, education)

  3. The device has to be operated as a normal workstation (client). Server services of any kind are not allowed. This applies to server services on network layer (DNS-Server, BOOTP-Server, DHCP-Server, WINS-Server, Samba services or NFS-Server) as well as to server services on application layer (WWW-Server, NEWS-Server, FTP-Server, Gaming-Servers, NT-Servers, File-Servers, P2P-Servers, ...).

  4. The computer has to be registered in the DHCP- and DNS-Servers of the computation center. If you give a network adress (physical, IP) or a network name (TCP/IP Name, NetBios name, ....) to your computer yourself you are going to be disconnected from the network immediately.

  5. The computer is configured to set its TCP/IP parameter (IP adress, subnet mask, default gateway, DNS-Server) dynamically. A static configuration is not possible.

  6. Only normal workstations (clients) are allowed to be connected to the ports in the dormitories. It is NOT allowed to connect network components e.g. routers, WLAN access points. The same rule applies to computers which are configured as network compontens. An exception to this rule are network components which are provided by the computation center.

  7. The rules (http://www.uni-regensburg.de/Einrichtungen/Rechenzentrum/Benutzer/ Benutzerordnung) for operation of the network of the computation center are to be followed. Disturbance causing services are not allowed to be activated.

  8. If a computer is causing disturbances within the network it is going to be disconnected without consultation. The computer can access the network again, if the reason for the disturbance is fixed. If a disturbance happens for the third time, the computer will be locked for 30 days.

  9. The person which owns the computer is responsible for all data and programs, which are installed on his/her computer. Especially copyrights are to be followed. If violations (e.g. offering music or movies which are protected by copyrights in P2P-Networks) against copyrights become known, the owner of the computer looses the right to access the university network with his/her private computer.

  10. The owner of the computer is under obligation to keep the operating system and the installed programs up-to-date with respect to security. It should not be possible for attackers to use well known security holes and be therefore a threat to other resources in the network.

  11. It is strongly prohibited to sniff, record, spy, modify any external data in the network. Is is also prohibited to use hardware or software that can be harmful to other users or computers. Examples are: SPAM Mail Generators, programs for scanning ip adresses and ports, programs for denial-of-service attacks, programs for sniffing or manipulating network data.,...

  12. The computation center does not provide support with problems which are associated to the usage of the network on a private computer.

  13. The location of the computer and the responsible person for the computer are information which are to be published to the computation center. Changes are to be notified to the computation center as fast as possible.

Additionally the rules of computer usage at the University of Regensburg apply.
Letzte Änderung: 30.05.2007 von Ulrich Werling

Zur Webansicht Zur Webansicht
0/1 Rechenzentrum der Universität Regensburg
Home Uni  Pfeil  Rechenzentrum  Pfeil  
Deko-Banner
Zur Lese-/Druckansicht  

English
Frequently Used Links:
Hauptnavigation:

Regelungen zur Nutzung eines Datennetzanschlusses in den Wohnheimen

Hier finden Sie Informationen über die Voraussetzungen und die Regelungen, die für die Nutzung eines Datennetzanschlusses in den Wohnheimen gelten.

[ Voraussetzungen ]   [ Betriebliche Regelungen ]   [ Nutzungsordnung ]


1. Welche Voraussetzungen sind für die Nutzung eines Datennetzanschlusses in einem Studentenwohnheim nötig?

  • Sie benötigen einen gültigen RZ Account. Falls Sie an der Universität oder Fachhochschule Regensburg studieren, erhalten Sie diesen mit der Einschreibung. Studierende anderer Universitäten können einen RZ Account gegen Vorlage ihres Studentenausweises im Infostand des Rechenzentrums beantragen.

  • Pro Semester wird eine Gebühr von 6€ ( 1€ / Monat) erhoben, die bei der Anmeldung bzw. bei der zu jedem Semesterbeginn erforderlichen Verlängerung automatisch von Ihrem elektronischen Konto , das mit dem RZ Account verbunden ist, abgebucht wird. Reicht Ihr Kontostand für die Abbuchung nicht aus, ist keine Anmeldung oder Verlängerung möglich. Füllen Sie Ihren Kontostand daher bitte vor einer Anmeldung oder Verlängerung entsprechend auf.

  • Jedes Gerät, das Sie im Wohnheim nutzen wollen, muß dort registriert sein. Die Registrierung können Sie auf Ihrer persönlichen Wohnheimstatusseite und direkt an Ihrem Wohnheimanschluß ausführen. Zu Beginn eines jeden Semesters ist eine Verlängerung der Registrierung nötig, die über die gleiche Seite erfolgen kann. Nicht verlängerte Geräte werden automatisch gelöscht (siehe unten).

  • Jedes Gerät muß auf DHCP Betrieb eingestellt sein. Unter Windows XP/Vista bedeutet dies, daß Sie in den TCP/IP Einstellungen Ihrer Netzwerkkarte die Funktionen IP Adresse automatisch beziehen und DNS-Serveradresse automatisch beziehen aktivieren müssen (Standardeinstellung bei Windows).


2. Betriebliche Regelungen

  • Die Registrierung von Geräten in den Wohnheimen gilt immer für ein Semester. Startzeitpunkte sind der 1. Mai und der 1. November. Wollen Sie ein Gerät ein weiteres Semester nutzen, müssen Sie es zu Beginn eines jeden Semesters verlängern. Eine Verlängerung für ein Sommersemester ist vom 1.April bis 30. April, für ein Wintersemester vom 1.Oktober bis 31.Oktober möglich. Die Verlängerung können Sie bequem über Ihre persönliche Wohnheimstatusseite ausführen.

    Achtung: Nicht verlängerte Geräte werden automatisch am 1.Mai bzw. 1.Novermber gelöscht!

  • Jegliche Registrierungsaktion (Neuanmeldung, Abmeldung, Ummeldung oder Verlängerung) können Sie jederzeit direkt an Ihrem Wohnheimanschluß ausführen. Die Wohnheimstartseite mit Ihrer persönlichen Statusseite ist immer erreichbar, egal in welchem Zustand Ihr Wohnheimanschluß ist (siehe unten). Alle Aktionen werden innerhalb von 20min automatisch gültig.

  • Bei der Abmeldung eines registrierten Geräts wird Ihnen der restliche Semesterbeitrag (Differenzbetrag bis zum nächsten Abbuchungstermin) -auf volle Monate abgerundet - auf Ihr elektronisches Konto zurücküberwiesen.

  • Jeder registrierte Wohnheimrechner kann ab sofort als sog. Kursrechner angemeldet werden. Solche Rechner können dann nicht nur im Wohnheim, sondern ohne weitere Registrierung überall an der Universität verwendet werden. Diese Möglichkeit ist für die Nutzer von Notebooks gedacht, die Ihren Notebook gleichzeitig im Wohnheim und in einem Büro oder Labor an der Universität benutzen wollen. Bitte melden Sie Ihren Rechner nur dann als Kursrechner an, wenn das wirklich notwendig ist, da die Zahl der dafür verfügbaren IP Adressen beschränkt ist! Kursrechneranmeldungen werden immer am 1.Sept. automatisch gelöscht. Sie können natürlich danach jederzeit die Anmeldung wiederholen. Die Löschung einer Kursrechneranmeldung löscht natürlich nicht die Anmeldung als Wohnheimrechner.
    Bitte beachten Sie: Dies gilt nur für kabelgebundene Anschlüsse. Falls Sie das Funknetz an der Universität benutzen wollen, müssen Sie Ihre Funknetzkarte dort separat registrieren.

  • Die tägliche Übertragungsmenge pro Anschluß (nicht pro Rechner!) ist limitiert. Sie beträgt 2 GByte/Tag für Heime, die über Glasfaserleitungen angeschlossen sind und 1 GByte/Tag für Heime mit Funkanbindung. Gemessen wird dabei die komplette Menge an Bytes, die von Ihrem Anschluß sowohl uniintern als auch von/nach außen empfangen und gesendet wird. Eine Unterscheidung zwischen uniinternen und externen Verbindungen ist mit den in den Wohnheimen verwendeten Netzwerkkomponenten nicht möglich. Wenn das tägliche Übertragungslimit überschritten wird, werden die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten Ihres Anschlusses eingeschränkt: es sind dann nur Verbindungen innerhalb der Universität mit limitierter Bandbreite möglich. Diese Einschränkung ist aber nur für den Rest des Tages aktiv und wird automatisch um 24:00 wieder aufgehoben.

  • Leider gibt es auch Situationen, in denen Ihr Anschluß gesperrt wird. Dies ist beispielsweise der Fall, wenn eines Ihrer Geräte Störungen im Datennetz verursacht bzw. Angriffe auf andere Rechner ausführt, weil es mit einem Virus oder Trojaner etc. infiziert ist. In diesem Fall wird Ihr Anschluß in ein Quarantänenetz verlagert, in dem Sie nur Zugriff auf den Windowsupdateserver der Universität und den Sophos Virenscannerserver haben, von denen Sie aktuelle Updates des Betriebssystems und des Sophosvirenscanners laden können.


3. Nutzungsordnung für den Betrieb von privaten Geräten am Datennetz in einem Wohnheim


Ein Gerät darf in einem Wohnheim am Datennetz der Universität betrieben werden, wenn folgende Bedingungen eingehalten werden:
  1. Die Nutzung ist ausschließlich Personen mit einer gültigen NDS Benutzerkennung gestattet.

  2. Die Nutzung entspricht den Richtlinien der Benutzungsordnung (Forschung, Lehre und Ausbildung).

  3. Das Gerät wird als normale Arbeitsstation (Client) betrieben. Serverdienste jeglicher Art können nicht gestattet werden. Dies gilt sowohl für Serverdienste auf Netzwerkebene (DNS Server, BOOTP- oder DHCP Server, WINS Server, Samba Dienste oder NFS Server) als auch auf Applikationsebene (WWW Server, News Server, FTP Server, Spieleserver, NT Serverdienste, Fileserverdienste, Peer-2-Peer Server, etc.).

  4. Die Rechner müssen im DHCP und DNS Server des Rechenzentrums registriert sein. Die eigenmächtige Vergabe von Netzwerkadressen (physikalische Interfaceadresse, IP Adresse) und Netzwerknamen (TCP/IP Name, NetBios Name, etc.) führt zur sofortigen Abtrennung vom Datennetz.

  5. Der Rechner erfrägt seine TCP/IP Konfigurationsparameter (IP Adresse, Subnetzmaske, Defaultrouter, Domainnameserver) dynamisch während des Bootvorgangs vom DHCP Server des Rechenzentrums. Der statische Eintrag der Konfigurationsparameter ist nicht möglich.

  6. An den Anschlüssen in den Wohneinheiten dürfen nur normale Arbeitsstationen angeschlossen werden. Der Anschluss von Netzwerkkomponenten wie z.B. Router (gilt auch für als Router konfigurierte Arbeitsstationen) oder WLAN Accesspoints ist untersagt. Ein Verstoss führt zur sofortigen Abtrennung vom Datennetz. Eine Ausnahme sind vom RZ ausgegebene Geräte.

  7. Die vom Rechenzentrum vorgegebene Betriebsregelung für das Datennetz (http://www.uni-regensburg.de/Einrichtungen/Rechenzentrum/Benutzer/ Benutzerordnung) ist einzuhalten. Speziell Störungen verursachende Dienste dürfen nicht aktiviert werden.

  8. Verursacht der Rechner Störungen im Datennetz, wird er vom Rechenzentrum ohne Rücksprache vom Datennetz abgetrennt. Eine erneuter Zugang zum Datennetz ist erst möglich, wenn die Ursache der Störungen beseitigt ist. Verursacht ein Rechner wiederholt Störungen, wird er ab dem 3. Mal für jeweils 30 Tage gesperrt.

  9. Der Betreiber hat für alle Daten und Programme, die auf seinem Rechner gespeichert bzw. installiert sind, prinzipiell die Copyright-, Urheber- und Nutzungsrechte zu beachten. Werden Verstösse gegen diese Regeln bekannt (Beispiel: durch Freigabe urheberrechtlich geschützter Filme oder Musikstücke in Peer-2-Peer Netzen), verliert der Betreiber das Recht, private Rechner am Datennetz der Universität zu betreiben.

  10. Der Betreiber ist verpflichtet, das Betriebssystem und die benutzten Programme auf seinem Rechner stets auf dem aktuellen Sicherheitsstand zu halten, damit bekannte Schwachstellen nicht von Angreifern ausgenutzt werden können und so der Rechner nicht zu einer Gefahr für andere Rechner im Datennetz wird.

  11. Jedem Benutzer ist es strikt untersagt, fremde Daten aus dem Datennetz 'mitzuhören', auszuspähen, aufzuzeichnen oder zu verändern. Es dürfen auch keine Hard- und Software-Komponenten eingesetzt werden, deren Ziel es ist, dem Datennetz, anderen Rechnern oder Benutzern Schaden zuzufügen. Beispiele sind z.B. Programme zum Versenden von SPAM Mail, zum Scannen von Adressen und Ports, für Denial-of-Service Angriffe, zum Abhören des Netzwerks oder zur Manipulation fremder Rechner und Netzwerkkomponenten etc.

  12. Das Rechenzentrum leistet keine Unterstützung bei Problemen, die auf dem Rechner in Zusammenhang mit der Netznutzung stehen.

  13. Der Standort des Rechners und der Verantwortliche sind dem Rechenzentrum bekannt zu geben. Veränderungen sind umgehend zu melden.

Im übrigen gelten die Regelungen zur Benutzung der EDV Einrichtungen an der Universität Regensburg.

Letzte Änderung: 30.05.2007 von Ulrich Werling